Dutch Parliament Votes against EU-Mercosur Agreement

The trade deal can only be implemented if all EU member states ratify it. The Austrian parliament has also refrained from confirming the trade deal with Mercosur.

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - A Free Trade Agreement between the EU and four South American countries, known as the Mercosur trade bloc, has been voted down by the Dutch parliament, on Wednesday, June 3rd. This not only puts the largest-ever EU trade deal at risk, it also doesn’t bode well for the upcoming Dutch vote on the ratification of the trade deal between the EU and Canada.

The fact that even a typical outward-looking trading nation such as the Netherlands turns more and more away from negotiated free trade deals, which started with successful campaigns to stop . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?