São Paulo: 12 Beachfront Cities Ignore State Restrictions against Crowded Beaches

The cities say they have reinforced inspection and are preparing measures in an attempt to restrain activity in the region.

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - Twelve municipalities along the São Paulo coast decided not to comply with the State government's decision to temporarily place all state municipalities in the red phase of the São Paulo Plan in order to halt the spread of coronavirus. The weekend began with large tourist activity and crowded beaches. The cities say they have stepped up their inspection of protocols.

Among the cities maintaining the yellow phase are nine municipalities of Baixada Santista (Bertioga, Cubatão, Guarujá, Itanhaém, Mongaguá, Peruíbe, Praia Grande, Santos, São Vicente), as well as Caraguatatuba, Ubatuba . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?