[uam_ad id="317182"]

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - Vitória (Espírito Santo), Florianópolis (Santa Catarina), and Campinas (São Paulo) have become metropolises, according to the Cities' Influence Regions (REGIC) survey, based on 2018 data, which the Brazilian Institute of Geography and Statistics (IBGE) released yesterday, June 25th.

The three cities now figure among the total 15 Brazilian metropolises. With the rise of Campinas, the only city that is not a state capital, São Paulo became the first state to have two metropolises.

According to the IBGE, Vitória, Florianópolis, and Campinas reached a metropolis' level of classification, for having . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?