RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - President Jair Bolsonaro announced on Friday, August 23rd, through a tweet, that negotiations for a free trade agreement between Mercosur (Argentina, Brazil, Paraguay, and Uruguay) and EFTA, a bloc of wealthy European countries formed by Switzerland, Norway, Iceland, and Liechtenstein, which has a combined Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of US$1.1 trillion, have been finalized.

The announcement comes less than two months after Mercosur completed its most significant trade agreement in its history, signed with Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed? Login Here