Série A Samba Schools Will Open 2016 Carnival in Rio

By Chesney Hearst, Senior Contributing Reporter

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL – Now that the Christmas and New Year's Eve celebrations are over and 2016 has begun, attention in Rio de Janeiro and Brazil turns to the upcoming Carnival, which this year will take place on February 5th, 6th, 7th, and 8th. To start the official Carnival competition in Rio, the first seven samba schools of the fourteen in lower group, Série A (formerly Group A and Access Group), will parade in the Sambódromo on February 5th.

The yearly Carnival parades held in the Sambódromo, while colorful, music . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?