By Robbie Blakeley, Senior Contributing Reporter

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL – Germany have won the 2014 FIFA World Cup after a 1-0 win over Argentina at the Maracanã this afternoon (July 13th). An extra-time goal from Mario Gotze separated the two sides, as the Germans lifted their fourth world title.

Germany beat Argentina, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, Brazil News
Germany beat Argentina 1-0 in Rio to lift fourth World Cup, image recreation.

The game, during normal time at least, had arguably been edged by the South Americans, but in the additional half hour Germany showed what they are really about, and why they are now the reigning world champions.

With less than ten minutes remaining on the clock they scored the decisive goal. Andre Schurrle crossed from the left, and Gotze’s deft control and volley beat goalkeeper Sergio Romero.

Germany are deserved winners. They have been the best side at the tournament, and their 7-1 demolition of Brazil in the semi-final last Tuesday is likely to go down as the greatest ever performance at a World Cup.

In addition, their success makes them the first ever European country to win a World Cup tournament on South American soil. Also, they managed to keep four-time World Player of the Year Lionel Messi quiet for the duration.

Messi, at 27, may now be at his peak and could have seen his chance slip. when the next World Cup comes around in 2018 in Russia, he will be 31, and a new generation of greats will be hitting the headlines.

With Argentina trailing 1-0 he had a final chance to take the final to penalties. Lining up a free-kick in the dying seconds, he sent his effort high and wide. His chance to make history disappeared with the ball. His best chance came in the first half, when he dragged a shot wide when through against German stopper Manuel Neuer.

It was a chance you expect Messi to put away. It is moments like that which separate him from the herd. Except this, the biggest game of his career, was the moment his touch deserted him. Messi’s wait goes on, while Germany close in on Brazil’s record of five world titles.

* The Rio Times Daily Updates feature is offered to help keep you up-to-date with important news as it happens.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

7 − six =