Rio’s Vasco Wins 2017 Taça Rio Over Botafogo, 2×0

After a noneventful first half, two late goals from Douglas and Luis Fabiano carried Vasco to its tenth Taça Rio championship.

By Nelson Belen, Contributing Reporter

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL - On Sunday, April 16th, at Nilton Santos Stadium (Engenhão) Vasco shutout Botafogo 2-0 to win the 2017 Taça Rio, the second stage of the Campeonato Carioca. With goals from Douglas and Luis Fabiano, Vasco is now the team with the most victories in the tournament, with ten Taça Rio titles.

Both teams earned their spot in Sunday's finals as a result of last weekend's semi-finals, involving all of Rio's big four clubs. Vasco drew 0-0 with Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?