A Guide to the Beaches and Postos of Rio de Janeiro

By Georgie Hay, Contributing Reporter

RIO DE JANEIRO, BRAZIL – The five main beaches of Rio de Janeiro that line Zona Sul (South Zone) are primarily defined by neighborhoods, in order from east to west, Leme, Copacabana, Arpoador, Ipanema and Leblon. By far the largest is Copacabana, and Ipanema is the more famous and desirable in contemporary times, but there are more distinctions for visitors and tourists to learn.

In addition to the neighborhood names, stretching across over 8km of coastline, the beaches are divided by twelve ‘postos’ (posts). Numbered lifeguard towers spaced just under a kilometer apart offering toilets, changing . . .

To read the full NEWS and much more, Subscribe to our Premium Membership Plan. Already Subscribed?